Endorsement Alert: Local, Legislative, and Statewide Races

Democrats for Equality,

Thank you to our members who attended our last two endorsement meetings this month! We are excited to announce several more endorsements for the 2022 election cycle.

For our final statewide endorsement, club members voted to endorse LGBTQ Los Angeles City Controller Ron Galperin for State Controller. If elected, Ron could become our second LGBTQ statewide elected official after Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara.

At our regular January 20th endorsement meeting, club members voted to endorse Alicia Munoz and Rick Shea as friendly incumbents for San Diego County Board of Education in Districts 3 and 5!

We also endorsed Kent Lee for San Diego City Council District 6, as well as Carolina Chavez for Chula Vista City Council District 1!

Finally, we endorsed LGBTQ candidate Godwin Higa for San Diego Unified School Board in District B, and Cody Petterson for San Diego Unified School Board in District C!

A few days later at one of our first-ever Endorsement-palooza meetings, we weighed in on several major legislative races.

We are excited to have endorsed our amazing state legislative incumbents Assemblymembers Chris Ward in Assembly District 78, Dr. Akilah Weber in Assembly District 79, Brian Maienschein in Assembly District 76, and Tasha Boerner Horvath in Assembly District 77 for re-election!

Also, we endorsed our former LGBTQ Council President Georgette Gómez to succeed the legendary Lorena Gonzalez for Assembly District 80 in both the special and regular elections.

Our club members also voted to endorse San Clemente City Councilmember Chris Duncan for Assembly District 74, and former Santee City Councilmember Stephen Houlahan for Congressional District 48 to take the fight to Darrell Issa in East County.

Our club members also voted to endorse Congressmember Sara Jacobs for re-election in Congressional District 51, Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear for Senate District 38, and Joseph Rocha for Senate District 40.

For more of our endorsements, please check out our 2022 Endorsements page.

Ryan Trabuco (he/him/his)
Club President
San Diego Democrats for Equality

Latest posts